Bananas Foster Cupcakes

Let me just start out by saying that you can put bananas foster sauce on just about anything and it will be delicious. I was first introduced to bananas foster my sophomore year in college when a chef made it for my sorority after recruitment. He pours bananas foster over ice cream! It has been such a hit, that we ask him to make it every year for us. I’m pretty sure it is one of the highlights of recruitment as a Chi Omega!

If you know me, then you know that I am a cake/cupcake fanatic. So I thought, why not combine two of my favorite desserts- bananas foster and cupcakes! Turned out that many people using Pinterest had the same idea! However, most recipes called for a cream cheese icing and the cake seemed more like a muffin. Now, I love cream cheese and I love muffins, but bananas foster is rather rich and I did not want the cupcake to overpower the sauce. So, I decided to make a simple banana cupcake with a light buttercream frosting. The combination was just perfect with the bananas foster sauce. It was not too rich and not too heavy. This is now one of my top 10 favorite desserts! Also, I have to give a shout out to my best friend, Mackenzie, for all of her help while cooking! Thanks a million!

P.S. Sorry for my lack of photography skills in this post. Photographing and cooking at the same time is harder than it seems. Hope you enjoy!

ImageImage

Icing

4 c. confectioners’ sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 egg white

1 tbsp. water

6 tbsp. butter, softened

Cake recipe found here. Bananas Foster recipe found at the bottom of this blog post.

Leave a Reply

